Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 24, 2014

Benia lifts Saya Jagti Kesari title

Journey Line
Katra: Wrestler Benia min of J&K police lifts "108 Annual Saya Jagti Kesari title 2014" by defeating Wrestler Sunny of Hossiarpur in Punjab in the bout for the first malli that lasted for 13 minutes at Saya Jagti near Nagrota. Vishal Dangal was organized by PEER BABA SAYA Jagti Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association under the over all supervision of President J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association Shiv Kumar Sharma , Abdul Rashid Malik (Chairman of the Dangal Committee) and Parveen Singh (Vice President)
Winner of the first main bout Wrestler Benia Min has awarded with cash prize of Rs 20,000/- by chief guest Choudhary Shokat Ali and Shiv Kumar Sharma while runner-up Wrestler Sunny got Rs 16,000/- by State General Secretary BSP Sh. Rakesh Wazir and Ex. MLA Sukh Dev Singh . In all 38 bouts were played in this one day long Dangal . An amount of Rs 1,95,000/- has been incurred for conduct of this vishal dangal. Prize money of 1st malli bout Rs. 36,000/- was contributed by chief guest Choudhery Shokat Ali, Rakesh Wazir contributed Rs 10,000/- as financial assistance and Ex. MLA Shiv Dev Singh contributed Rs 5,000/- as financial assistance to the organizers.
The 2nd main bout was fought between Wrestler Pardeep of Patiala in Punjab V/s Wrestler Kamaljote of Khanna, this bout was won by Pardeep in 4minutes and 15 second cash prize of Rs 10,000/- was given to winner Wrestler Pardeep by Abdul Rashid Malik and Retd. SP P.R. Sharma while runner-up wrestler Kamaljot got Rs 7,000/- by Parveen Singh and Sarpanch Rehmat Ali . 3rd main bout was fought between Wrestler Rinka of Patiala V/s Lalli of Garh Shanker in Punjab this bout ended in draw that lasted for 23 minutes and both the Wrestlers were jointly given Rs 12,000/-. 4th bout was won by Major of Ludhiana who defeated ASAF of Bajarangi Akhara Jammu.
PDP Senior Leader Choudhary Shokat Ali was the chief guest on the occasion who gave away cash prizes to the winners and runner-up wrestlers. Treasurer Indian Style Wrestling Association of India Shiv Kumar Sharma presided over the function. State General Secretary BSP Rakesh Wazir and EX. MLA Shiv Dev Singh were the guest of honour . Retd. SP Prithivi Raj Sharma, Choudhary Rehmat Ali, Thoru Ram, Choudhary Alam Khan, (all Sarpanches), Mangal Singh (Retd. DSP), Numberdar Bittu, Prominent citizens, and a large number of local and outside people witnessed the Vishal Dangal.

No comments: