Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 24, 2014

Punjab wrestler Gani bags Malhar Dangal title

Newspoint Bureau
Jammu Tawi, June 22
Abdul Gani of Mallerkotla in Punjab clinched the16th Annual Malhar Dangal title after he defeated Pardeep of Patiala in a closely contested 22-minute long bout at Malhar in tehsil and district Udhampur.
Winner and runner-up wrestler of the top bout were awarded with cash prize of Rs 19,000 and Rs 14,000 respectively by chief guest, senior BJP leader, Pawan Gupta in the presence of president, J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma, district Udhampur PDP president, Sukhdev Sharma, and president of Malhar Dangal Committee, Devinder Kumar (Pappu).
Dangal was organized by Malhar Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association involving around 72 wrestlers from within and outside the State.
The event held under the overall supervision of Shiv Kumar Sharma, Devinder Kumar (Pappu) and Rattan Fouji. In all, 40 bouts were played in this one-day dangal.
The second main bout won by Lalli of Garh Shanker in Punjab who defeated Major of Loudana. Ranjeet of Ludhiana secured third bout beating Gurjeet of Patiala while fourth bout won by Chinni of Banaras outplaying Nisar Ahmed of Doda. All these winners and runners and got handsome cash prize from the organizers.
Prominent among others present were Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), SHO, OP Chib, Varinder Sharma, Om Parkash Verma, Satish Kumar, Amar Singh, Muna Khan and Capt. Dhiyan Singh.
Members and technical officials who helped for the smooth conduct of the event included Devinder Kumar (DK), Sarpanch Subash Chander Sharma, Om Paul, Pawan Kumar, Beli Ram, Nariyan Dass, Gopal Dass, Nek Ram, Madan Lal, Capt. (Retd.) Dhiyan Singh, Mohd Fareed, Vijay Singh (Bijju, Tulinder Kumar, Raj Singh,, Pappu Lakri, Rajinder Kumar Ramotra, Murli Dhar (Munna) and Om Parkash Verma.
Other Results: Salman of Choprashop beat Sonu of Garh Shanker, Ranjeet of Ludhiana beat Sukha of Garh Shanker, Sukha of Patiala beat Nisar Ahmed of Doda; Chinni of Banaras beat Ravinder Fouji of Haryana, Gopal Sharma of Jindrah beat Talib of Maller Kotla. Bouts played between Sandeep of Haryana and Murad Ali of Domana Akhara Jammu and Rajan of Banaras ended in a draw.

No comments: