Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 3, 2014

Chandigarh wrestler Gurmail bags Bhamag Kesari title

State Times
JAMMU: Serving with BSF, Chandigarh wrestler Gurmail won the 16th Annual Bhamag Kesari Dangal outplaying Farooq of Sarore (Samba) in a close contest that took place at Sardabbar, Moungari in block Panchari of district Udhampur. Dangal was part of the three-day Shiv Parvati Mela.
Gurmail was awarded with a cash prize of Rs 6,000 along with a traditional silver Gurj and Patta by Chief Guest, former IGP, S.S Bijral and Organising Secretary, Shiv Kumar Sharma. Runners-up, Farooq was awarded with Rs 4,000 prize by Swantanter Dev Kotwal and Harish Kumar Dubey.
Dangal was organised by J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association collectively with J and K Police, J and K Tourism Department, J&K Bank, Amar Memorial Trust Katra and Bamhag Kesari Dangal Committee.
In all, 33 bouts were decided in the Dangal. Members of the Dangal Committee and technical officials who helped in the successful conduct of the event included Hans Raj Thakur, Virender Sharma, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri) Sanjeev Kumar Sharma, Om Parkash Verma, Kartar Singh, Jagdish Chander, Murli Dhar (Munna), Laxman Singh Katoch, Vijay Singh (Biju), Mohd. Fareed, Sindoor Singh and Hoshiar Singh.
Other Results: Kuldeep of Bamhag beat liaqat of Panthal, Sandeep of Chandigarh defeated Babba of Kot Bhawal, Billu of Kot Bhawal trounced Dinu of Domana, Jammu, Kali Dass of Reasi outplayed Varun Sharma of Manwal, Tek Singh of Reasi overpowered Munnir Khan of Panj Grain, Pritam of Reasi downed Karnail Singh of Batote, Shokat Ali of Nargada blanked Nazir Ali of Jindrah, Amarjeet of Chandigarh thrashed Gopal of Jindrah and Mohammad Akram of Jammu defeated Anil of Chandigarh.

No comments: