Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 3, 2014

Punjab wrestler Gourav lifts Udhampur kesari title

Greater Kashmir
Jammu, May 27: Wrestler Gourav of Ludhiana in Punjab lifted the 7th Annual Udhampur Kesari dangal title outplaying Benia of J&K Police in a neck to neck contest that lasted for 23 minutes at Subash Stadium Udhampur.
Winner Gourav presented with Rs 35,000 cash prize while Benia received Rs 30,000 from the chief guest, Balwant Singh Mankotia (MLA). Dangal was organized by Fruit and Vegitable Vendors Welfare Association Udhampur in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
President of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided.
BJP leader, Pawan Khajuria, Sukh Dev Singh and Advocate Swantanter Dev Kotwal were guests of honour.
Also present were Virender Kumar Sharma, Om Parkash Verma, Satish Kumar, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), Jaitender Vermani, Deepak (Punjab Kesari) and Dr Mulk Raj Bhamagi.
Around 60 bouts took place in this dangal wherein wrestlers from within and outside the state too part. The second main bout went to Gourav Rana of Himachal Pradesh, who beat Bhupinder of Ajnala in Punjab. While Gourav got Rs 13,000 prize, Rs 12,000 went to runners-up Bhupinder.
In third bout, Major of Ludhiana defeated Sagar of Delhi while Gurmail of BSF trounced Tinku of Delhi in the fourth main bout. Ranjeet of Ludhiana bagged the fifth bout outplaying Roshan Lal Sharma of Muthi.
Other Results: Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhawal Jammu bt Fiza of Billawar, Kathua Narinder of BSF of Chandigarh bt Deepu of Domana Akhara, Chandan Fougi of Harayana bt Arif of Roun Domail, Teg Singh of Reasi bt Baboo of Jindarh, Pritam Singh of Reasi bt Karmat of Domana Akhara, Kuldeep of Chandigarh bt Bagga of Kot Bhawal, Fiza of Billawar bt Amir Khan of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu, Mustaq of Samba bt Muneer Khan of Domana Akhara, Balwinder of Domana Akhara bt Subash of Chopra Shop Udhampur, Nisar of Doda bt Sabba of Ludhiana, Jamat Ali of Nagrota bt Tirthu of Manwal, Kaka Jindrah bt Lehar Singh of Ramban, Raju of Kathua bt Sonu of Roun Domail, Lallu of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu bt Vijay of Bai-Bajalth, Javed Khan of Nargada bt Rajbeer of Rajasthan, Bobari of Sarore (Samba) bt Yeshbir of Army of Phagwara, Bharat Bhushan of Una (H.P) bt Deepak of chandigarh, Sandeep of Chandigarh bt Murad Ali of Domana Akhara, Parvez of Chandigarh bt Billu of Kot Bhawal, Ajay of Landon Power House Udhampur bt Sandeep of Chandigarh and Maan Hussain of Domana Akhara bt Gopal Sharma of Jindrah.

No comments: