Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 29, 2014

Lalli of Punjab lifts Battal Kushti Dangal title

Vijay Gupta

Jammu, June 26
Lalli of Garh Shanker in Punjab clinched the 6th Annual Battal Dangal title defeating Amit of Guru Hunumam Akhara Delhi in the main bout held at Battal in tehsil Majalta of district Udhampur. Winner and runners-up wrestlers of the top bout awarded with cash prize of Rs 10,000 and Rs 8,000 respectively jointly by president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma, president district Udhampur, Virender Sharma and president of Battal Dangal Committee, Dewan Chand Sharma. Dangal was organized by Battal Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association. Around 78 wrestlers drawn from within and outside the State participated in the event. In all, 43 bouts were played in the day-long dangal.
Wrestler Chinni of Banaras was declared as the best wrestler of the dangal. He won two bouts by fall and was awarded with an additional cash prize of Rs 500. The second main bout was won by Sukha of Rajasthan who defeated Roshan Lal Sharma of J&K Police. Ranjeet of Ludhina secured the third bout beating Nisar Ahmed of Doda while fourth bout clinched by Ajay Kumar Sharma of Landen Power House (Udhampur) trouncing Rajan of Banaras. Prominent among others present were AEE Vinod Sharma, Naib Tehsildar Majalta Shanker Chand, Advocate Amit Sharma, JE Som Nath, Dr. Subash Chander, Prem Nath Badiyal, Shiv Ram, Rajesh Kumar Sharma (Raju), Bittu, Hans Raj, Om parkash, Karnail Singh, contractor Rumal Singh, Girdwar Yash Paul Singh, Lochan Singh and Om Parkash Verma. Baba Varinder Giri was chief guest who gave away the cash prizes to the winners and winners-up wrestlers. District Horticulture officer, Udhampur Virender Sharma, AEE Vinod Sharma and Naib Tehsildar Shanker Chand were guests of honour. Members and technical officials who helped for the smooth conduct of the event included Dewan Chand Sharma.

No comments: