Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 3, 2014

Benia lifts Chopra Shop Kesari dangal

Early Times Report

JAMMU, May 26: Wrestler Benia Min of J&K Police lifted the 2nd Chopra Shop (Chak Morh) dangal title outplaying Gourav Rana of Himachal Pradesh in the main bout that took place at Chak Morh in district Udhampur. Dangal was organized by Chak Morh Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
Senior BJP leader, Pawn Khajuria was chief guest who distributed cash prize among the winners and runner-up wrestlers. President J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided.
Stational House Officer, OP Chib was guest of honour. Sarpanch Ved Parkash, Virender Kumar Kumar Sharma, Om Parkash Verma, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), Sarpanch Ashwani Sharma and Sarpanch Bittu were among those prominent present.
In all, 61 bouts took place in this day-long dangal.
Winner of the main bout, Benia Min presented with a cash prize of Rs 16,000 while runners-up, Gourav Rana got Rs 15,000 prize money. The second main bout went to wrestler Jagdev (Major) of Ludhiana in Punjab who defeated wrestler Sukha of Rajasthan while Gurmail of BSF of Chandigarh outplayed Ranjeet of Ludhiana.
Fourth main bout won by Roshan Lal of Muthi in Jammu who defeated Tinku of Delhi while fifth bout bagged by Sagar of Delhi after he defeated Bobari of Sarore in Samba.
Chak Morh Dangal Committee members and technical officials who helped in the conduct of this dangal included Satish Kumar (president), Sarpanch Ved Parkash, Ashok Kumar (Shosha), Billu Sardar, Panch Subash Aggarwal Som Raj, Rashid, Vijay Koda, Jai Krishan, Dalip Kumar Sharma, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), Virender Sharma, Om Parkash Verma, Rajinder Singh, Sanjay Kumar, Vijay Kumar, Chanchal Singh, Murli Dhar (Munna), Mohd. Fareed, Vijay Singh (Biju), Tulinder Kumar, Capt. Lehar Singh (Retd.), Laxman Singh, Miru, Raj Singh, and Rajinder Kumar Ramotra.
Other Results: Farooq of Sarore beat Akram of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu, Rajat of Punjab beat Dinu of Domana Akhara, Anil Kumar (Mohanu) of J&K Police beat Rajbeer of Rajasthan, Sandeep of Chandigarh beat Asif of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu, Akram of Chouadi Jammu beat Kalu of Bishnah, Javed Khan of Nargada beat Narinder of Chandigarh, Parvez of Chandigarh of BSF beat Sujjan Ali of Domana Akhara of J&K Police, Yeshbir of Phagwara beat Gopal Sharma of Jindrah, Ajay Landon Power House Udhampur beat Brajesh of Chandigarh, Ravinder Fouji beat Subash of Chopra Shop, Amarjeet of Chandigarh beat Billu Kot Bhawal, Muneer Khan of Domana beat Tirthu of Manwal. Bout played between Rajesh of J&K Police and Sandeep of Chandigarh ended in a draw.

No comments: