Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 15, 2014

JKP wrestler Benia Min lifts Udhampur-Kawa Kesari title

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

KATRA, June 13: Wrestler Benia Min of J&K Police clinched the 6th Annual Udhampur-Kawa Kesari Vishal Dangal title outplaying wrestler Hari Krishan (Chota Khalli) of Rohtak, Haryana in the bout for first Malli that lasted for 14 minutes at Government High School Kawa, near here today.
The Vishal Dangal was organized by Kawa Dangal committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, under the overall supervision of president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association and Sarpanch Durga Dass Padha who is also president of the Kawa Dangal Committee.
Winner of the main bout, Benia Min was awarded handsome cash prize of Rs 26,000 by MLA Udhampur, Balwant Singh Mankotia, who was the chief guest on the occasion and SP Udhampur, Khalil Poswal, who was the guest of honour, while the runners-up wrestler Hari Krishan was awarded a cash prize of Rs 25,000 by treasurer Indian Style wrestling Association of India, Shiv Kumar Sharma who was accompanied by Sarpanch Durga Dass Padha, president of Kawa Dangal Committee.
Yaswant Singh Slathia (Retd) District Horticulture officer Virender Kumar Sharma and DSP Kamal Sharma were the special guests.
Prominent among other personalities present on the occasion were Deepaik Anand (Punjab Kesari) and Sarpanch Shabir Ahmed.
The second main bout was won by Vinod of Khanna who defeated Nisar Ahmed of Doda. 3rd main bout was won by Ajay of Khanna who defeated Sandeep of Sonipat, 4th bout was won by Ajay Kumar Sharma of Lodon Power House Udhampur who defeated Parveen of Khanna

No comments: